My title

Nursing Quality at AAMC

Powered by Knowledge. Inspired by Caring

The full meaning of our nursing motto, “Powered by Knowledge. Inspired by Caring,” lives and breathes in our nursing quality councils. Through these councils, nurses are empowered to bring best practices directly to the bedside. From one end of the house to the other, nurses formulate their practice questions, conduct literature reviews, review research articles, and create quality improvement projects geared to the specific needs of their patients. Fall prevention, hospital acquired pressure ulcer prevention, promotion of exclusive breast feeding and reducing hypothermia are just a few examples of the nursing quality improvements projects conducted at AAMC.     

click to enlarge

Our nursing quality infrastructure is three tiered – unit level, service line level, and organizational level. The unit level quality councils report to their service line quality councils – Medicine, Women’s and Children, and Surgical. The service line quality councils in turn report to the organizational wide quality council. This three tiered structure allows for strong communication and collaboration between quality councils within and between the service lines. This three tiered nursing quality structure, with the staff nurse linking the work of the council to the patient, is fundamental to improving nursing quality. The primary functions of the unit-based, service-line, and organizational level quality councils are detailed in the graph to the right.   

To learn more about nursing quality, check out the links below:

Clinical Guidelines:
Agency for Research and Quality (AHRQ):
National Guideline Clearing House:
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence:
Guideline International Network:

Other Web Sites:
Institute of Health Care Improvement (IHI):
National Institute of Health (NIH):
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR):
Patient Safety and Quality. An Evidence Based Handbook for Nurses: