My title



Print this Post

Anne Arundel Health System Welcomes New Board Members

(November 9, 2012) – The Anne Arundel Health System (AAHS) Board of Trustees has named new officers and three new members for the upcoming year.

The new officers of the AAHS Board of Trustee are: Biana Arentz, chair; Edward Gosselin, vice chair; Admiral Charles Larson (ret.), treasurer; and Kent McNew, secretary.

New additions to the Board of Trustees include:

• George K. Anderson, M.D.

• Alan J. Hyatt

• John P. Kopkowski

Dr. Anderson is the executive director of the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States, the non-profit society for federal health professionals. Anderson spent 30 years in military service including overseas duty as an Air Force flight surgeon in Korea and Germany and held aerospace medicine leadership positions in the US. He is a past president and fellow, American College of Preventive Medicine; past president and fellow, Aerospace Medical Association; past chairman, American Board of Preventive Medicine; distinguished fellow, American College of Physician Executives; and member, International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine.

Alan J. Hyatt is the founding partner of the Hyatt & Weber, P.A. law firm, concentrating his practice in banking, real estate and commercial law. Hyatt is also the chairman of Severn Bancorp and its subsidiary, Severn Savings Bank, FSB. He currently is president of the board of directors of the Anne Arundel Community College Foundation, Inc., and serves on the board of the Annapolis Community Foundation.

John P. Kopkowski retired from the National Security Agency in 2000 after more than 35 years of service. He is a self-taught pen-and-ink artist and has exhibited in a number of art galleries in Maryland, including the U.S. Naval Academy. He started volunteering in 2007 at AAMC’s Joint and Spine Center. He is serving on the Board as the president of Anne Arundel Medical Center’s Auxiliary.

Other members of the AAHS Board of Trustees are: Victoria W. Bayless, John Belcher, James P. Ellerson, Carlesa Finney, Kenneth Gummerson, MD, Jason L. Groves, Esq., Gary Jobson, Maulik S. Joshi, Dr. P.H., Douglas S. Mitchell, MD, Christina Baldwin O’Meara, and Leisa C. Russell.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>